Winners of the Family Law Awards 2017 Announced

LexisNexisLexisNexis Legal & Professional, a leading global provider of information and analytics, today announced that over 500 family lawyers enjoyed a sparkling evening at the seventh annual Family Law Awards last night at the Ballroom South Bank in London. Finalists, sponsors and guests celebrated the hard work, commitment and successes throughout the year of the nominees and the family law profession as a whole.

Sir Mark Hedley once again expertly hosted the event during which awards were presented across 19 categories. The shortlist and winners were chosen by a judging panel made up of the heads of the Family Law Bar Association, Resolution, CILEx and the Association of Lawyers for Children, along with Family Law and LexisNexis editors and executives.

The 2017 charity partner was the National Pro Bono Centre, the ‘hub’ for legal pro bono charities across the legal sector. Representatives of the Centre selected the winner of the Family Law Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year award, which was awarded to Alex Laing of Coram Chambers.

The prestigious Cornwell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Family Law, sponsored by 4 Paper Buildings, was awarded to the late Sir Nicholas Wall, former President of the Family Law Division. Accepting the award, Lady Margaret Wall announced that the family has set up an Annual Lecture in Sir Nicholas’s name, the first of which will be given by Lady Hale in May 2018.

Christian Fleck, Managing Director, LexisNexis UK & Ireland, said: “The Family Law Awards are designed to champion the truly exceptional achievements of family lawyers across the profession. I’m honoured that so many have joined us to celebrate this evening as we turn the spotlight on their valuable work. Our congratulations to all those nominated and shortlisted for their efforts, and our thanks to the judges and all those who took the time to nominate.”

This year’s event was generously sponsored by: 1 Crown Office Row; 1 Garden Court Family Law Chambers; 3 Paper Buildings; 4 Paper Buildings; Brewin Dolphin; Coram Chambers; Dawson Cornwell; DNA Legal; Goldsmith Chambers; Harcourt Chambers; Irwin Mitchell Private Wealth; RateSetter; Rayden Solicitors and Smith & Williamson.

Photos of the winners are available on the Family Law Awards website:

Family Law Chartered Legal Executive or Paralegal of the YearKerri Gregory, Field Overell LLP
Family Law Commentator of the YearAndrew Newbury, Hall Brown Family Law
Family Law Pro Bono Lawyer of the YearAlex Laing, Coram Chambers
International Family Lawyer of the YearHenry Setright QC, 4 Paper Buildings
Cornwell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Family LawSir Nicholas Wall
Family Law Young Solicitor of the YearLucy Hoare, Hecht Montgomery Solicitors
Family Law Young Barrister of the YearIndu Kumar, 4 Paper Buildings
Family Law Associate Solicitor of the YearDavid Lister, Irwin Mitchell Private Wealth
Family Law Junior Barrister of the YearKaty Rensten, Coram Chambers
Family Law Partner of the YearPeter Watson-Lee, Williams Thompson Solicitors
Family Law QC of the YearDavid Williams QC (appointed The Rt Hon Justice Williams in October 2017)
Clerking Team of the Year36 Family
Family Law Firm of the Year – LondonForsters LLP
Family Law Firm of the Year – MidlandsIrwin Mitchell Private Wealth
Family Law Firm of the Year – NorthMSB Solicitors
Family Law Firm of the Year – SouthRayden Solicitors
Family Law Firm of the Year – WalesWendy Hopkins Family Law Practice
Family Law Regional Chambers of the YearPark Square Barristers
Family Law London Chambers of the Year4 Paper Buildings

Associate News is provided by Legal Futures Associates.
Find out about becoming an Associate


Loading animation