National Paralegal Awards – Finalists announced!

National Paralegal AwardsThe finalists for the inaugural National Paralegal Awards have been announced.

These brand-new awards are specifically aimed at recognising the achievements of Paralegals across the UK, law firms that develop Paralegals and recruitment companies who recruit Paralegals. The response to the awards was phenomenal, giving the judges a tough task deciding the finalists and winners.

Rita Leat, Managing Director of The Professional Paralegal Register, the voluntary regulator for Paralegals in England and Wales, who is hosting these new awards said ‘We were delighted with the number of entries and the quality of the entrants. There are an estimated 100,000 plus Paralegals in the UK. I am delighted to be pioneering these awards as the profession needs celebrating, not only because it is the fastest growing legal sector but because it has gone unrewarded for far too long. The awards will change that’.

An outstanding achievement award will also be presented by the PPR to a highly acclaimed individual from the legal sector, parliament or the  judiciary who has demonstrated support for the voluntary regulation of Paralegals.

The judging panel included legal  and business experts across a variety of legal sectors  including Mark Solon, Chairman from Wilmington Legal; Amir Ali MCICM, Chairman, CCUA; Sally Penni, Barrister; Katrina Robinson MBE; Keven Bader, Chief Executive of CITMA; Claire Smith, Head of Business Development, Moneypenny; Rachel Tombs, Orion Legal Marketing and Karen Babington, Solve Legal;  Helen Heselwood, Heselwood and Grant Solicitors; Stephen Gowland, past President of Cilex.

Mark Solon, Chairman from Wilmington Legal shared his view of this new initiative to celebrate the work of paralegals “As the law becomes more complex and expands into all areas of life, highly trained specialists in specific areas of practice will be essential. I am delighted to have been able to judge these awards as they acknowledge and reward excellence for paralegals.”

Finalists and sponsors will gather together on 29th March 2019 for a black-tie gala final held at The May Fair Hotel to celebrate achievement and announce the winners of each category.

In addition, the event will support and raise money for Young Citizens, a charity who work to help young people become active, engaged and motivated citizens, who are able to contribute positively to their communities.

2019 Finalists

Best Family Law Paralegal

Alison Collier- Nowell Meller

Dawn Gore – Trethowans LLP

Iselin Jones- Corbett Le Quesne

Kaya Suleyman – Morrison Solicitors LLP

Nicola Phipps – Wikivorce


Will Writing Organisation of the Year

Bill Hogg – Attorney Wills

Nick Ash – Will and Probate Services Eventus

Heritage Will Writers


Best Law Firm/Organisation – Paralegal Development

Dentons UK

Eric Robinson Solicitors

Mayo Wynne Baxter

PM Property Lawyers

Shakespeare Martineau


Which Legal


Paralegal Recruitment Organisation of the Year

EJ Group

F Lex

Law Staff Legal Recruitment

The Stephen James Partnership

Simply Law Jobs


Best Trademark Paralegal

Peter Fisher – CP Law Associates

Rebecca McBride

Roy Scott – Keltie LLP


Best ADR Paralegal

Clive Lewis- Globis Mediation Group

Maria Arpa

Qaiser Bari


Best Employment/HR Paralegal

Bina Briggs – Plain Talking HR

Joe Milner – Loch Associates

Leah Caprani – Winckworth Sherwood LLP

Michael Coe-Dimension88


Best Conveyancing Paralegal

Kay Liddle- PM Property Lawyers

Kelvin Cooper-Birketts

Laura Kate Morley- PM Property Lawyers

Rachel Lawrence – Dentons UK


Best Pro Bono Paralegal

Ashleah Skinner

Lyn Berry

Nisar Afsar -BCADS


Best Probate Research Paralegal

Alex Horrod -Anglia Research

Katie Lowe- Estate Research

Lauren Geary – Treethorpe

Lorna Gallacher- Treethorpe

Neil Fraser – Fraser and Fraser


Paralegal Business of the Year

Champion Law

Construction Legal

Divorce Online

Estate Research

Derby Legal Assistance

Fraser and Fraser

Lender & Court

Problem Percy

White Collar Legal


Paralegal of the Year

Ashleah Skinner

Caroline Spencer- Boulton

Gerald Murphy

Ian Lobb

Jonathan Dattani

Julie Herbert

Katie Lowe

Leah Caprani

Michael Coe

Nick Ash

Paige George

Peter Fisher

Philip Nam

Sharon Baker

Associate News is provided by Legal Futures Associates.
Find out about becoming an Associate


Loading animation