Land Data releases Local Land Charges Awards for Excellence shortlist

Land DataBy Legal Futures Associate Land Data

Land Data, the National Land Information Service (NLIS) regulator, has today revealed the shortlist of finalists for its upcoming 2022 Land Data Local Land Charges Awards for Excellence.  After a two-month period of judging the shortlist is now finalised. Entries and nominations were submitted by solicitors, conveyancers, customer service experts and local land charges personnel. 

Since their launch in 2008, the annual Local Land Charges (LLC) Awards for Excellence remain the only national awards celebrating the achievements and successes of Local Authority Local Land Charges departments across England and Wales. 

The Awards, which will be presented virtually as part of the Local Land Charges Training & Development event on 8 and 9 March, include five categories covering the Best Performing Local Land Change department, the Customer Satisfaction Award, the Local Authority Searches Team of the Year, and the Unsung Hero Award.

This year’s shortlist is made up of 37 local authority teams and 10 individuals who have all demonstrated excellence and willingness to adapt throughout the pandemic and in the busiest property market for well over a decade.  

Fiona Barron, Chief Executive of Land Data, said: “We created the Local Land Charges Awards for Excellence 14 years ago to shine a light on excellence in the sector, and reward it. After all, local land charge teams are a vital link in the home buying process, providing information on which buyers depend and make important decisions about their future.
The past two years have been extremely tough for local land charge teams, with many staff changes and external demands on the role. It is therefore essential to acknowledge achievement and excellence in the profession. The comments we received from conveyancing solicitors whose local authorities go the extra mile to deliver an excellent customer service has been fantastic.” 


The shortlisted local authorities and individuals (listed alphabetically) are: 

Customer Satisfaction for Local Authority Searches – sponsored by the Coal Authority

 Arun District Council  

Brighton & Hove City Council   

Cambridge City Council   

Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council 

East Suffolk Council   

Exeter City Council   

London Borough of Barnet   

London Borough of Havering   

Reigate & Banstead Borough Council   

West Devon Borough Council 


Best Performing NLIS Level 3 Local Land Charges Department – sponsored by the NLIS Hub

Bristol City Council  

Cheshire East Council  

Cheshire West and Chester Council  

City of York Council   

Hambleton District Council  

Kensington & Chelsea Royal Borough Council  

London Borough of Richmond-upon-Thames 

Melton Borough Council  

South Gloucestershire Council  

Westminster City Council 


Best Performing NLIS Level 2 Local Land Charges Department – sponsored by the NLIS Hub

Braintree Borough Council 
Bromley Borough Council 
Denbighshire County Council 
Gravesham Borough Council 
London Borough of Camden  

London Borough of Merton  

North Devon Council 
Somerset West & Taunton Council 
Spelthorne Borough Council 
Wokingham District Council 

Unsung Hero Award – sponsored by the NLIS Hub Helpdesk Team

Pushpa Solanki –  Bedford Council  

LLC Team –  Derby City 

LLC Team –  Gwynedd Council  

Abigail Mabbett –  London Borough of Barnet  

Tan Shah  London – Borough of Brent  

Jonathan Unger –  London Borough of Haringey   

Amit Chowdhary –  London Borough of Richmond upon Thames  

Nicola Griffiths –  Pembrokeshire County Council 

Kay Weston –  Stafford Borough Council 

Ian Hartburn –  Sunderland City Council 

Steve Baggs –  Test Valley Borough Council  

Nemanja Cvjetinovic –  Westminster City Council 


Local Authority Searches Team of the Year Award – sponsored by the Local Land Charges Institute

Arun District Council 

Blaby District Council 

Boston Borough Council 

Central Bedfordshire Council 

Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council  

East Suffolk Council 

Greater Cambridge Council 

London Borough of Havering  

Reigate & Banstead Borough Council 

Selby District Council 

Westminster City Council 


Associate News is provided by Legal Futures Associates.
Find out about becoming an Associate


Loading animation